Lemonade

Interrior Image(1)
pc: ourventurablvd.com

CHRONIC MNCHER: Lemonade is what quiet suburbanites would consider an ‘exciting change of pace.’ The restaurant’s playful interior and synthetic warmth welcomes ritzy customers with open arms. You grab a tray, walk the line, order food, and pay. If this sounds oddly familiar, it should. It’s called a cafeteria. However, instead of middle-school quality sloppy joes and cole slaw, Lemonade offers fancy white truffle mac n’ cheese, braised Moroccan chicken, and the like. I kept it simple. I got a turkey sandwich. And after the first bite, my eyes exploded and my lips gently whispered, “wow.” Behind the plastic aesthetic, puzzling menu, and bourgeois patrons, Lemonade’s food is actually unique and delicious.

When life gives you lemons, order the turkey bacon avocado.

starstarstarstarstarstarstarhalfstarblankstarblankstar 7.3/10

SPACE TACORecently had an encounter with the mirage that is Lemonade. From enjoying the simplicity and warm colors of their interior design to their friendly wait staff, I had high hopes for the welcoming, albeit noisy, establishment. However, the Rubix cube that is their menu left me perplexed and hungry. I figured the saving grace would be the lemonade which fell flat. The beyond sugary beverage reminded me of the lemonade I would buy from my six year old neighbors. My salad and beef brisket were just alright and definitely not worth what was paid for them. Finally, the miniature red velvet cupcake was actually quite excellent, but I would not frequent Lemonade again for dinner, but opt for one of their tasty sandwiches to go instead.

I give Lemonade a 6.8

starstarstarstarstarstarhalfstarblankstarblankstarblankstar 6.8/10


 

The Verdict: starstarstarstarstarstarhalfstar 7.05/10

Lemonade is located at 401 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660 (inside Fashion Island next to the movie theater)

You can follow them on Facebook HERE. 

Leave a Reply

